Ziggy Marley Sings a Lifetime of Experience

As Ziggy Marley emerged from the depths of darkness backstage, a brilliant light shone through as he made his way to the Guvernment’s centre stage in Toronto. African sounds brought forth applause, cheers, and welcome greetings from the fans gathered to catch a glimpse of reggae royalty. The first-born son of the late, great, Robert Nesta Marley, quickly got people ‘Into the Groove’, of his sophomore-solo album, Love Is My Religion.  Guiding the populous on an enlightening journey through time and space, Ziggy revisited tracks Bob once sang and shared his perspective, his side of the story. Songs like ‘Forever Loving Jah’, evoked images captured on film, of a time when he was merely a young boy on stage with his father, watching, singing, and dancing as the Reggae icon evolved and later was crowned King. Ziggy carries on this legacy, in his own words, in his own way.

Ziggy continues to share music indigenous to life, evolution and struggle through word, sound and power. A spirit of unity, a spirit of oneness resonated through his words, through the music, through the vibe. Attentive and alert the crowd longed for every word cheering in appreciation and later calling him back for an encore.

Thankful to be blessed in such presence…

Ziggy drew ‘Shalom Salaam’ from his debut-solo project, Dragonfly, prior to leading us through the jungles that have kept people from their dreams. Sharing poetically crafted lyrics, Ziggy delivered ‘A Lifetime’ of music and messages in a couple of hours allowing the audience to venture to a place of melancholy, a reality check if you will, to hear messages of politics and injustices throughout the world. ‘Justice’ was questioned, reminding people of the innocent lives of Marcus Mosiah Garvey and Steven Biko. From here we ventured through another meditation, the same “Concrete Jungle” his father once warned about…

…and still “no sun will shine…”

Spirits of warriors and revolutionaries seemed present in the powerful drumming patterns and in the words of ‘Be Free’ and ‘Still the Storm’.  Accompanied by his seven piece band and two songbirds, Ziggy’s messages “I don’t condemn, I don’t convert” were conveyed during ‘Love is My Religion’, the final track of his regular set.  Upon returning to the stage, he picked us up in what appeared to be a distant land, where the sounds of the drummer and the bassist were effervescent and felt through every cell in one’s body… Again hypnotic rhythms captivated the audience during ‘Looking’ and his final piece ‘Africa Unite’.  Ziggy Marley, like his father before him also writes songs of freedom, songs of redemption, songs of love, and songs of religion; a personal religion, better described as a way of life, a way of living. This is what we as RasTafari call livity.

This concert was an Africa calling, “me wan’ go home!” Set my people free-with a hint of Tupac, Paul Simon, and Peter Gabriel rolled into one-Ziggy-Marley-kinda-vibe. Make love your religion…spread the word and spread the love…  For more information on Ziggy Marley and Love is My Religion visit www.ziggymarley.com

Special thanks to REMG for another great presentation and particularly Lisa Louie for being thorough and to Dawn Langfield (www.langfieldentertainment.com) without whom you would not be reading these words.  [Note from Dawn: Many Thanks Teresa!]

…and so…

I leave you with a natural mystic, felt throughout the night; I leave you with the words of a son, written to and for his father, entitled ‘Keep on Dreaming’ and I livicate them to you and to everyone who has ever lost someone, particularly to a loved one I’ve lost recently…

Keep on Dreaming [David Nesta “Ziggy” Marley]

When you left me, I didn’t cry, but my heart was heavy
as heavy as lead
I sit there thinking with no thoughts in my head
I could not be comforted, by the living or the dead
So I keep on dreaming to communicate
and I keep on dreaming if that’s what it take
keep on dreaming, it’s never too late
keep on dreaming, cause that’s what it take
I see you in my visions, and it seems you’re right here
I wish I didn’t have to wake up, but here comes the light of day
it’s been too long now, since you went away
won’t you come back, so we can play
( Chorus )
I knew it wasn’t over, it was only the start
cause I see the light that shines in the dark
the questions have answers, my love isn’t lost
fate put us together, so nothing can tear us apart
( Chorus )

R.I.P. 30 Pounds
Live on, RasTafari
 

Source:  Sweet T aka Teresa Castellucci
Broadcaster/Producer/Entertainment reporter
sweettee@sympatico.ca 
416.720.4061

Posted on September 17, 2006, in Reggae Artists. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

